The most challenging shoot you've done?

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
I am not a pro so I don't have to worry about pleasing clients or shoot with uncertainties under stress. I have had some challenging shoots with landscape. One at Antelope Canyon, having to deal with the crowded space and the sand. The other at Jiu Zhai Gou (9 village vally) in China, where there were tens of thousands of tourists all over the place and I have to make it look as though it's unmolested in any way.

All of these challenges are not comparable to what I had to shoot recently. Product photography involving mega size toy building kit with kids.

I did it at two places, 2 days consecutively. First day was at a kindergarten where the designer(my student) of the kit had been testing designs, so the kids are already familiar with it. We rented simple lights to light up the dim indoor room. Space wasn't ideal, but I could back up enough to get ok shots. The environment was really bad for any kind of shoot. The walls are dirty and the wooden floors are old and badly scratched up. No amount of photoshop can make it look good. Also I borrowed my friend's D800 and simply couldn't make it look right as I can on my own D700. The kids were really fun to work with, a bit too fun. In conclusion, whether we can get the kids to do what we want them to, the background simply didn't work out. We had to scramble for a second place.