The old 50mm portrait lens

Flatland2D

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still new to photography, but it seems almost like a rule that 50mm lenses are used for portraits. My only question is, is this 50mm equivalent, or a lens marked 50mm? The reason I'm asking is that walking around at home with my 18-70mm lens set at 50mm (plus 1.5x crop factor) seems a little too close to use in the confines of a house for small group shots. I'd like to get a really fast prime for indoor/no flash shots, and I'm thinking I might want something less than 50mm. What do you guys use? Thanks.

A 50 mm is the normal lens, which is similar to human eyesight,moreover it's recommended to start with, it's almost perfect for everything, not just portraits, i used a couple of cameras with 50 mm on them for a while and then i got myself a Jupiter 12 to fit on my russian fed 3, it's about 32 mm. And it was a nice solution. My ricoh's lens is 40 mm and it's around the normal range too...

Anyway you might wanna try something between 28-35 mm...

Here's a little something to read about the "normal lens" which will give you an insight on the subject.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normal_lens

I have a cropped format camera as well and the way I figure it out is this:

I look through the viewfinder and set the focal lenght to what I think might be close to normal.
Then raise my head over the camera and try to judge if what I see in the viewfinder is the same size as my eyes sees them.

The issue is perspective and that is determined by the camera to subject distance. What we do is determine the best perspective for the shot and then use the focal length lens for that distance that best covers the angle of view to capture what we had in mind.