The "P word"

Christie Photo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.christiephoto.com
From time to time, I sense some underlying emotions whenever the word PRO is used here. I'm not sure what it's all about.

I'm a working professional photographer. I'm happy to share what I know... what I've learned. That's how I got started.... hanging on the shirt-tails of working pros in my town.

And I realize too that I can learn much more as our industry evolves. I'm never surprised anymore where I pick up something new, often from the most unexpected places.

But every once in a while, I come across the idea that pros using pro gear is a bad thing... something to be diminished. It's almost as if the idea is to beat down the pro to feel better about what we do and how we do it.

Anybody else ever feel this? Maybe it's just me.

-Pete

I've never really picked that up, Pete. But I do feel that the term 'pro' is being debased.
In the same way that there are people who seem to believe that merely owning a camera makes them wise and knowledgeable in the ways of Photography (and particularly in the area of what makes a good photograph). So too are there people who believe that they are entitled to call themselves a 'pro' on the grounds that they have done nothing more than a few dodgy photo shoots for a mate.
Whilst I believe that anyone can call themselves an Artist (for who is to say they are not?), I do think that the appellation 'professional' is a different case.
It implies that you know the craft and that you do it full time for a living. It also implies that your work is at least of a certain level of quality and that your dealings with clients is likewise proficient.
But the current trend for every Tom, Dick and Ansel to call themselves 'professional' on the thinnest of excuses has devalued the whole meaning of the term 'professional' when applied to Photography.