The Queen, the King and .... the Moon

gpardo64

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Look at the top of these buildings, really nice ah?.

This is my first time going to the streets and shooting at night (long exposure).
Lessons learnt:

-Don't forget the adapter to install the camera to your tripod (sh...)
-Take with you mosquito repellent.
-Don't forget your wife is waiting for you in the car!. (time passes too fast when your doing what you like).

The picture was really soft and I had to sharper more than usual (used a kit lens 18-55 with a D5000).

Feedback will be appreciated.

4646143157_031cfdc656_b.jpg

f5.3 is almost fully open for the 18-55. Next time you do it try a smaller aperture and a longer shutter. That should result in a sharper image.

Well, I tried some other smaller apertures (including a f32) and longer exposures without any luck. The sharpest one was the one above. Thanks anyway!

I found that the canon kit 18-55mm is really soft at f22, but at f9-11 for night time landscapes is the sweet spot I like usually.

f32 is way to closed for the kit lenses, and thats beyond its sweet spot. normally between f9 and f11, are the good apertures.

The smaller aperture gives you a larger depth of field the larger the aperture the smaller your DOF.

Here are some examples.(no post processing other then size reduction, borders and watermark)
DSC_1469.JPG

Model: NIKON D5000
DateTime: 10/20/2009 8:45:41 PM
ISOSpeedRatings: ISO 200
FocalLength: 18 mm
FNumber: F10
ExposureTime: 10 s

DSC_2642.JPG

Model: NIKON D5000
DateTime: 3/10/2010 1:35:29 AM
ISOSpeedRatings: ISO 200
FocalLength: 18 mm
FNumber: F8
ExposureTime: 30 s

It's a really nice shot, pity it's not as sharp as it could be, and that there's a bit of noise in the sky (surprising given ISO 200).