Theatre photography

Glooomp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
People of TPF. I need your help.

I have been recruited by my school's drama faculty to photograph all their major productions- ie. the year 11 and 12 ones.

I need some general tips on shooting in that type of scenario. I will be in the sound/lighting box with an open window.

hey gloomp, you need to give more info, what camera you have, how experience you are, what lens, etc.

Ok- I have an Olympus E-300
I am quite new to photography, but I have had many helpful tips, and are good friends with a couple of professional photographers, so I am feeling ver happy with the shots I have been turning out.

It sounds like you are going to be very limited in how you can move around, so you are going to have to do a lot of your composition with the lens. It looks like that camera has interchangable lenses, but I'm guessing that you have a limited budget. The kit lens doesn't open very wide, so you are probably going to have to boost the ISO and deal with the noise for dim scenes. The optimum would be a fast zoom (wide aperture), but that will be expensive.

I am in theater and I always shoot the productions and head shots. Tell the director that you will need close to half an hour during tech week to shoot photos. This way you will be able to be on stage. The actors and lights can be adjusted accordingly. Also you will not have to roll off 104 shots to get one or two keepers.

Also, remember to talk to the designers (scenic, lighting, costume, makeup) and see if there is anything they would like you to get for their portfolios.

craigneed close to half an hour during tech week to shoot photos.[/quote said:
and the tecies dont hang you up from the lighting rig :lol::mrgreen:

Thanks guys. I did my shoot with what I have, and it wasn't very good. I really need to buy a faster lens because almost all the shots were blurred. I got a few good ones though.