Thinking of a name for my business...

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
My last name is Juan. Nope I am not Spanish. I'm actually Taiwanese(Chinese). My last name is supposed to be read as Ruan but our government had different idea when they translated our family name for passport purpose. I can't change that, may as well make good use of it.

I am an Industrial Designer and I will be starting my own practice focusing on Toys and creative teaching methods (our education is a total failure). The Chinese name of my business can't be more generic but I don't really care about it. The English name will be more crucial for me.

So one of the more unique names that I've come up with that isn't taken yet is "daJuan". It's meant to be read as da-wan, as in "the-one". I know that local Taiwanese won't get it, I don't care. I also know that South East Asians will read it as da-ju-an. I do know that Americans will probably get it, since I used to be mistaken as Spanish or Hispanic if they knew my name before meeting me in person. So my question for ya folks is, how will non-Spanish speaking Europeans read it? Thanks!

BTW it's really hot and humid here now

61855191_10157503866261803_6104910546539118592_o.jpg

Well, this non-Spanish speaking European thinks its a good name.......

So my question for ya folks is, how will non-Spanish speaking Europeans read it?
I don't know, but my guess is that they're going to have some difficulty, not in pronunciation, but in connecting your business name with a person (you) with a similar name (which might not be pronounced the same anyway).

Thinking about two widely-spoken languages; French and German, French speakers might prefer Le Juan, and the German speakers might prefer der Juan if you want them to get the double entendre, but you would need to talk with native speakers to see if it worked at all. Then there are all those other languages.