Thinking of professional photography, where do I begin?

nickzou

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know, I'm sure this question asked hundreds of times before but here's might be something new... I'm willing to take the time and pay me dues.

I've been shooting as a hobby for the past 5 years, but in the last 5 months I've really started to get into it (mostly because I've had more free time). Equipment wise, I am or will be soon adequately stocked I think. But that's not my issue. I want to gain some experience and I'm willing to put in the work. I'm in no rush to start making money, the more important thing to me is to learn the business of photography and of course become a better photographer.

And photography is by no means my only skill. Through college I've worked as a freelance artist and graphic designer. Currently, I am working as a UX designer for a small company and I'm making decent money. I'm a decent programmer and a wizard with CAD. I'll be finished school (university) and I've already received a few offers from architectural firms who are interested in me for CAD related work. But I'm really interested in professional photography. And I'm willing to take my time to learn the craft. And I plan to work a day job while I hone my skills.

But my problem is that I don't know where to begin. My (rough) schedule is that I want to at least start decently supplementing my income at the end of 2016 (5 year plan). I just need an idea of what direction I should take. Should I try to get an internship with a professional photographer? I'm not even looking to be paid, I just want to learn right now. Should I start making a website (I don't feel like my work is good enough yet so I haven't bothered with a portfolio yet)? I'm always shooting and I'm always critical of my work. I have a background in design so this isn't all that foreign to me. But the business is.