To ask or not?

Lol999

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.17minutes.co.uk
Hi all, had an unnerving experience today, hope someone can offer some advice. If I'm in the wrong then I'll hold my hand up. So I'm in a cafe and it has some interesting customers so I discretely take out my camera, pre-focus and set it on the table. Every so often I take a shot with it still on the table. Nice and discrete. I should add at this point no children were in any of the shots. Someone who was not even in the shots sees this and decides to inform my subjects. Then all hell let's loose. One woman objefcts strongly so I apologise for any offence caused, stop immediately, tell her I'm a student and offer to let her have the pictures. This isn't enough for one woman who holds out her hand and says" film. now." I tell her she's no chance as I'm in a public place (the technicality of which I have to look at) and decide to make a quick exit. Suffice to say my days of shooting in my small town centre are over for a while. I feel guilty for causing upset to these people, but if it wasn't for this busybody everything would be fine and dandy. Did I cross the line? I was just after some natural looking "street" shots and stopped immediately upon objections being raised. In future I'm just going to ask but at the end of the day did I commit such a sin?
Cheers, Lol

That person is ridiculous. Your just capturing life as it is. If you were taking pictures of people in compromising positions it might be different but I dont think taking picutres of random people in their natural state is wrong. Keep doing it, I bet you get some good candid shots.