To Flash or not to flash

novelle72

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to photography. I received an Olympus E-Volt 500 for my birthday and love it. I am in the process of buying necessary accessories. The camera has a built in flash, do I really need an external flash? If so which one? Under what conditions would I use a large flash?
Thanks,
Russell

yes you need an off camera flash....
1. you have a lot longer flash range with a larger flash...
2. you can varry the angle of flash so as not to have the mug shot look.....
3. you can bounce it off the ceiling or a side wall to change the look of your picture from soft to dramatic...
4. You get a better fill light with an off camera flash...
6. You almost never get red eye with an off camera flash...
7. it just looks cool.

Im sure there are other reasons those are just the ones they strike me at the moment

mysteryscribe said:
yes you need an off camera flash....
1. you have a lot longer flash range with a larger flash...
2. you can varry the angle of flash so as not to have the mug shot look.....
3. you can bounce it off the ceiling or a side wall to change the look of your picture from soft to dramatic...
4. You get a better fill light with an off camera flash...
6. You almost never get red eye with an off camera flash...
7. it just looks cool.

Im sure there are other reasons those are just the ones they strike me at the moment
Agree with all of them except no. 4. Off-camera flash produces far bigger shadows – as seen by the lens – than the built-in one. So that's not particularly useful as fill-flash.

When talking about off camera flash do you mean a large freestanding remote flash or one that attaches to the hot shoe? Which one is most useful for the beginner?
Thanks,
Russell

novelle72 said:
When talking about off camera flash do you mean a large freestanding remote flash or one that attaches to the hot shoe? Which one is most useful for the beginner?