Torn

DavidElliot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I decided to pitch this out for all of you film slr buffs. I managed to find someone that was selling his Canon AE-1, along with Canon FD 50 mm lens 1:1.8, 28 mm 1:2.8 wide angle lens, Sigma 75 - 210 mm zoom lens, Vivitar 550 flash for hot shoe mount. Camera bag and accessories. All of that for $50. I've also found a Pentax K1000 on ebay that is currently hovering around $47 dollars that included the following: vivitar 273 flash w/ manual, SMC Pentax-M 1:2 50mm lens, Tokina 70-210mm 1:4.5-5.5 Zoom Lens, Tiffen 49mm UV protector, Quantaray 49 mm Spot filter, Untra Pod table-top tripod and Tamrac Expedition 3 Camera bag. my question is if you were in my shoes, which one would you pick? I'm completely new to film so I don't know exactly what I should be looking for, or what constitutes a "deal" I've heard that the Pentax is a workhorse and a great buy for beginners. Also, that the AE-1 is a good camera with a good supply of affordable FD lenses for the having. For the AE-1, I've read somewhere on the forums that there is a chance of "mirror squeak" but i'm not sure if that's going to be a problem or not. Should I jump on these chances, or should I wait it out for other bargains to appear?

Go for the AE-1 if not both, roughly a hundred dollars for two cameras and a mountain of glass is well worth it.

The AE-1 is also a work horse. Yeah there is a possibility of the "Canon Squeal" or Mirror Linkage issue, but if you can speak to the guy face to face and see the camera in hand you should be better off than internet. The Pentax... I am in the same boat you are, Just going on what I have read, but as it sits now it looks like an alright deal.