Total NewBie Alert -- Pls don't roll your eyes

Damian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.xanga.com
So I've always admried photographers and the works and in summer I got this electronic Canon cam to begin with but then I realized that I couldn't laern anything from the Auto program so I got a 2nd hand Minolta700 SLR instead...and so please consider me as a total innocent newbie XD
Kay so after all that bs, heres my questions: When I look into the frame everything is blurred exepct for the focus center part. Is that normal? How do I see the background anf DOFs clearly then, if everything is so blurred???
And does a good focus mean adjusting the focus ring until both lines of the subject inside the circle is straightened and looks like the real subject itself?? (lol i'm so sorry about the way i talk, it's like in tangles or something....)
Also, what is that +1, + 2, 0 , -1 , -2 thing? (thats all ive got, 4 numbers) What do those do?

Thanks for tolerating my stupidity...I was gonna read more about photography online but I figured interactive tutoring might be better for a dumb newbie like me....thanks!!!!

luv
Dami
:wink:

Damian said:
Kay so after all that bs, heres my questions: When I look into the frame everything is blurred exepct for the focus center part. Is that normal? How do I see the background anf DOFs clearly then, if everything is so blurred???

If changing the focus (on the lens) doesn't help, my guess is that maybe you have an eyepiece that has diopter correction built in (for people who normally wear glasses, so they can look through the viewfinder without glasses on). Either that or your lens or focusing screen is broken, though I wouldn't jump to that conclusion right away. I might be misunderstanding your quesiton though; when you say focus center, do you mean just the circle in the middle with everything else always blurry no matter what?

Also, what is that +1, + 2, 0 , -1 , -2 thing? (thats all ive got, 4 numbers) What do those do?