Total newbie. Lens questions

Jan3Sobieski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm new to the forum and photography in general. I've had quite a few compact cameras and were extremely unsatisfied with the pictures, build quality and of course the fact that the camera takes 3-5 seconds to actually "take the shot."

Reading forums, reviews and opinions I've decided to go with the D80 with the 18-135mm kit lens (I had many Best Buy gift cards laying around so I bought it there) I intend to take my time and read every photography book I can get my hands on (I've gone through a few now) and try things out for myself "out in the real world."

Knowing that the 18-135mm is only a decent lens "for the money" i want to get the 50mm prime as many of you have recommended.
Three questions.

1. In terms of build quality, performance, speed and quality of picture, is 1.4f MUCH better than the 1.8f? Is it worth the extra money?
I intend to shoot photos inside with arificial light and would like to shoot them with no flash. How well will the lens perform?

2. This might be a dumb question but hey, i gotta ask:
Does the camera automatically detect what lens it's got attached and configures all it's automated setting accordingly? Meaning, when i attach the lens will the camera "know" that the lens is capable of 1.4f and is fixed at 50mm? Also, and I think I've read this somewhere on this forum, the camera has capability to use that lens and auto-focus as opposed to the D40 where you'd have to manually focus. Is that right?