total newbie question for panoramic photographs

newbie321

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi, i should spend some time doing research which i will but i kinda need a response right away for some photos i have to take tonight. i will do research after im done from the field

i am taking pictures of a row of houses about a block long and i was thinking about doing a panoramic shot. i dont know anything about panoramic shots, but i will worry about post processing the pics when i come back from the field, but i want to make sure i do everything correctly when i take the pictures.

i have a canon rebel t2i which i never really used much.

so am i supposed to take overlapping pics (maybe 1/3 overlap)? and is a tripod really necessary?
and is there some settings i need to adjust on the camera (such setting the camera to panoramic mode) or something?

Well first yes you need a tripod and it needs to be completely level. You can get by with less overlap say about a quarter. There is no pano-mode that I have ever seen. Your settings will be those which will give you the correct exposure, as is the case for any photographic endeavour.

then i will grab one from a friend tonight. now when you say they have to be completely leveled, it will be hard to do that since i'm walking along a sidewalk that's on a slight slope. will this be an issue? in my simple head, i'm thinking as long as i grab the photos of the houses (not being leveled) the only thing that will be screwed up is the top and bottom view (sky and ground), which i can just cut out.

and thanks for letting me know that there isn't a panoramic mode. I will just take photos and overlap them approximately a quarter.

I shoot all my pano images in pure manual mode. Manual shutter, manual ISO, manual aperture, manual focus, manual white balance.... the whole 11 yards. That way, there's absolutely no difference in anything from one shot to the next.