Total newbie to photography looking for camera buying help

Shades

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi!

I'm a total newbie to photography- I'm the kid of person who takes pictures of friends, and that's about it. However, I'm really, really interested in getting into photography.

I ride horses, and am beginning to start my own buisness. However, being able to photograph horses would be a HUGE asset to me. We have a family camera, and it's great, but my problem is the long delay time. I'm needing to take some action shots, and while there's been plenty of opportunities, I always just miss them, because my camera's too slow.

I'm looking for a beginner-friendly camera for a reasonable price (under $1000 would be nice). It needs to have a quick start-up time (I think that's what you call it...:lol:) and also have a good image quality, since Photoshop is my hobby, and working with low-quality images is like hell. I have an awesome base of friends who kindly let me use their photography as stock, but I'd like to be able to supply for myself, too.

If anyone has any suggestions for me, it'd be a HUGE help.

Thanks!!

I recently purchased a D40 Nikon as a newbie and its been perfect. Its well under $1000 which leaves room in your budget for accessories. I think any of the "starter" DSLRs will fit your budget and purposes well.
Welcome to the site...you've come to the right place.

Ha ha. Thank you! It seems like a really good forum- there's TONS of people online, and from what I've read, everyone seems really willing to help out.

I really like that one. I just peeked at a picture, but I'll definitely have to google it. I'm really liking the price tag, too.

Thanks again!