Total noob looking for advise on softbox / lighting setup for clothing pics, purchase

rx3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Im hoping to take professional clothing pictures for my online store, hopefully the finished product would look something like this: Gap.

After doing some research on softboxes vs umbrellas, I think the softbox would be a better choice. I've looked at products like this Amazon.com: CowboyStudio 2275 Watt Digital Video Continuous Softbox Lighting Kit/Boom Set: Camera & Photo.

My question to the forum is, with softbox lighting, a 2x-3x backlight to blow out the white background and bulbs such as these alzo's Amazon.com: ALZO Digital Full Spectrum Light Bulb - ALZO 45W Photo CFL 5500K 91 CRI, Daylight balanced, pure white light, 2800 Lumens, Case of 4: Home Improvement for lighting, will I be able to reproduce this picture with my point and shoot Sony DSC H90.

Also, with the softbox filter, are the Alzo light necessary?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated and thank you so much for your replies.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you're serious about getting "professional pictures," hire a pro.

Don't try to be a jack of all trades, you'll run yourself ragged.

Thanks for the input, but I have so many items low cost items to take pictures of its not economically viable to have a pro take that many pictures or come by every time I get a new item. Im just trying to purchase the basics that will produce a marginally professional picture.

I have bought a few items from Alzo and have had very good results from them and their products have quality. They have very good customer service and are quite knowledgeable. I suggest to contact them directly to discuss your lighting needs & wants in combination with your gear.

Photography Equipment by ALZO Digital

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated...