Trying to decide: Canon Rebel XSi vs. Olympus E-520

Dionysus

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have read everything I could possibly read up on these two cameras, but being an utter newbie, I was wondering if I could get some personal opinions about these two cameras, to help me make a solid choice. It is a matter of cost for me as well. I'm the furthest thing from well off, so the entry level digital slr's are all that are in the budget for me right now.

Sure, down the line, more lens, and gadgets, but I need the camera first. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Thank you.

rebel XS is probably decent as well. i obviously have a bias towards canon, but they do have an EXCELLENT range of usable lenses from n00b to pro and you can stick em on either the xsi or the xs. ive also heard that olympus has some pretty good glass.

as a 40D shooter, I recently picked up an XSi. For a kid portrait shoot this weekend (http://www.w3bolivar.com/lr/bethellbabies) I was VERY impressed by the XSi. I had the XSi paired with the 70-200 f/2.8L IS and a 40D hooked to a 17-55 f/2.8 IS. The XSi/70-200 2.8L IS was far sharper. Hopefully it's a lens thing...but, regardless...the XSi has exceeded my expectations by far.

Personal opinions?

The canons sucks and the Oly ROCKS!!!

It is tough for me to give opinion since I only have experience with my Canon XTi (and few hours experience with my friend 1Ds MKIII). I do not know much about the Olympus.

All I know is it I have seen good results from both XSi and E-520. If you are a car person, it is like if you get a Honda Civic, there are tons of aftermarket performance parts to choose from. However, if you get a Toyota Corolla, you have less.

And it doesn't mean Civic is better than Corolla.