Two Cameras: Canon Rebel T5 EOS, Canon 30d EOS.

Idaho 45 Vaquero

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Howdy All,

I'm new to photography by the way. I would like to know some of the experiences and opinions some people have with some Canon EOS cameras in the $200-$350 price range; I have a couple I'm very interested in below. Are these good cameras?

Canon EOS Rebel T5 EF-S 18-55mm (Certified Refurbished by Canon) f/3.5-5.6

Canon EOS 30d (used on amazon) EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

They are sold by Amazon. I can get the 30d for a about $60 less than the $320 price for the refurbished Rebel T5 kit.

I'm planning on trying something like a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM Lens or a Tamron lens for an EOS on it for some close 10-15in. shots. Of course I'll see how the Camera does on its own first before I purchase additional lenses. Just wondering how well they do with lens attachments?

Thanks All.

Are you completely stuck on Canon? I had a few Canon EOS models and they were solid as in build. You could also go into mirrorless camera's like the Sony a6000 since the price drop on it and it's a great little camera with tons of features.

Try Ebay, I looked hard at the 30D before I bought my 40D and you could get the 30D for under $100 for camera, battery and charger and could add a 2 year "Square Trade" warranty for another $20+/-. You could probably get the 30D with a good EF-S IS lens for $150-$175.

Charlie

Wouldn't bother with the 30D, 40D, 50D all really old cameras, high ISO on them is just bad.
T5 is much better but its still carrying a 6 years old sensor which is ok but not really impressive, I would actually recommend you considering a Nikon D3200 Nikon D3300 which has a solid modern sensor.
In Canada the Nikon D3300 is 280$ new in store body only.
For you might be a better bet to get the Nikon D3200 with kit lens as you don't have any lenses yet.

Why not point and shoot? Better macro capabilities, possibly?

Howdy All,