Understanding ISO

Lizocain

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone!Im a newbie in photography,currently practising and learning about shutter speed/aparture/ISO/position and all the rest basics anyone has to go through..My camera,Olympus SP 560 UZ has an ISO range from 50-6400.However if i set it over 100 its getting more and more grainy..So,i cant help but wonder if the goal is as clean photos as possible why the camera has so many ISO stops?In what particular cases i would need ISO 1600/3200 for example?

I just took some fast snapshot just to show you how much noise i get cause i wanna know if its my camera or generally ISO gives this results in any other body.

1) ISO 50 (dont mind the composition,and ye i know its under exposed but it was the brighter i could give with lowest possible ISO)
P6130006.jpg

2) ISO 800
P6130002.jpg

3) ISO 6400
P6130001.jpg

Any help on how to use ISO is welcome,as well as all suggestions about books,tutorials on it.

Thanks ;)

Each time you raise the ISO you make the sensor more responcive to light - each time you do this ( as you've found out) will also incure an increase in the amount of noise and the overall quality of the shot will eventually degrade quite significantly once you get into the higher numbers.

For a shot like you have above there is no reason to use high ISOs - you can setup on a tripod and use a nice low ISO and a long shutter speed,