Unsure of price for mural

soylentgreen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, everyone. I am quite new to the professional side of photography (avid amatuer for 2 years) and would appreciate any help you can part with in regards to an upcoming job I have. I am a graphic designer/ illustrator by trade and have been asked to photograph some computer hardware for three large murals in a distributor's showroom. Each wall will cover approximately 96"Hx160" wide. They would like large blow up photos to cover the entire expanse of the three walls and would only need me to photograph the equipment in a "macro" sort of style. Showing cropped-in close ups of components, network nodes, circuit boards, that sort of thing. The images will most likely be printed on a 54" vinyl printer to adhere to foamboard or the like and than slapped on the wall. How would one go about pricing for something like this? I am use to the standard fees of illustration and graphic design, where I charge hourly or by piece. I will also need to quote them for use if the images on website, catalogue, promotional items, etc. that they will probably use for marketing and advertising also. I figure it shouldn't take me more than a couple of hours to shoot what I need if that's a help. Thanks for your help.

I have no idea about the pricing on this, but the first thing that pops into my head is that those prints are really big. What type of camera are you going to be using? Are you sure it will be able to print that large?

You will need to get good close-ups of the items in the camera. Also shooting in RAW mode will help. Then upsize files in PS’s RAW editor. As far as the camera I’m guessing 8mpix would be the minimal. And you most have good lens

Heavy cropping in PS will not work for this because you will see a lot of noise.

Size only affects the cost or markup of the print. Your time shooting and editing should be about the same