Upcoming Exhibition - Help!

dandylion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, i am brand new to this forum and am hoping to find some advice. My first gallery exhibition is coming up and I need help, i have never done this before and i feel totally lost.

I am showing 25 fine art photography prints. I dont have much experience actually printing so there is a learning curve...and its expensive! I dont make much money so i have been trying to keep the cost as low as reasonably possible.

I found a fine art print shop and they are printing my images on Epson Enhanced Matt Paper 192 gsm. The images are weird sizes (my fault) so we are going to print them as close to 11x14 as they will get (i dont want to crop) and a few select ones are going to be about 16x20. I am cutting the mat board myself...i picked up a cutter and some good acid free board.

So far, i have spent $430 for the prints, board and cutter.

Now the last big question: Do i have to frame them? I would prefer not to, so that it keeps the cost down and so that someone buying can choose their own frame.

But i am worried...is it considered amateurish to not frame, will i be shamed for not framing, do other artist only frame with mat board? The paperwork from the gallery says this: The artist/sponsor will deliver the work ready for installation, suitably framed and wired for hanging.

Is mat board suitable framing?

Please help :(

If you're showing at an art gallery, you really should frame them. Yes, it will look pretty amateurish to not have them framed. Gallery showings tend to be really expensive to set up, and be prepared to not break even on your investment. The good thing is, you'll likely have some inventory left over for your next show.

You can hang a matted print (no frame) using Swiss clips.

The purpose of a frame is to aid presentation by visually isolating the print/mat from the color and texture of the wall the print hangs on.