Updated site.....How'd I do?

Katz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am not a webmaster by any means, I don't really care for flash, and I wanted a basic simple site that was easy to use, somewhat classy, and very functional. After being told that my site was outdated and pretty much sucked by members on here, I decided to try and make it better....

What do you think of my site?

www.katzphotography.net

I'm a part-time web designer, so I'll throw out a little C&C for ya. Please do not take any of this as harsh or overly critical. I am just trying to help you build the most effecient and effective website possible.

1 - The W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) is the orginization that develops the "rules" that all web designers should follow when they are building a site. They have a validator that you can use to test the correctness and/or validity of your website. Using the validator to check your website, you can see that there are quite a few errors just on the homepage. A W3C compliant website is becoming increasingly important in the current day web enviroment. If a potential customer or site viewer sees that you take the time to make your site valid, correct, and pleasing, it lets them know that you take your work seriously. Some designers, including myself, include links at the bottom of their pages so that the users can quickly validate the sites code (both HTML/XHTML and CSS). Have a look at the bottom of my Mustang Club's site and click on the XHTML and/or CSS links.

2 - Using table as a means to do your page layout is no-no in current web design. Tables should be used for the display of tabular data. This is what they were designed for. They should not be used to position that data. Instead, you should use CSS and div tags for your layout. Again, see my Mustang Club's site for an example of CSS layout.