Upgrade from a Nikon F601

tburfield

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm just starting out on my photography journey, and am at that difficult stage of choosing which camera to purchase.

Many years ago my grandfather left me a Nikon F601, with a couple of AutoFocus lenses (std Nikkor 35-70mm and a Tokina 70-210), and filters etc.

I want to go down the digital route, but would any of the accessories for the F601 be useful for a digital camera? Ideally I'd like to be able to utilise these lenses etc, as I don't really have much spare cash to burn.

If the stuff for the F601 is compatible with modern digital bodies, is there a downside to using them - such as the modern equivilent lenses are far superior to the lenses that I already have, and will give inferior results, or that the lenses I have are not worth making a camera decision against?

Budget would probably be around £300-£400 ($600-$800) for a camera body, if thats the route I should go.

Thanks for any help in advance,

Tony

Welcome!

I'm afraid that with that your budget unfortunately limits the possibilities of getting the best out of the gear you already have.

You should give the exact information of the lenses you have, but I'm afraid that only a D200 would allow you to use them without loosing important things such as in-camera metering.

To keep using the lenses -which is obviously a good idea, even though they do not seem to be great lenses, but good enough anyway- you would have to go Nikon (or getting adapters, which sounds weird and not a good idea for your case). And with your budget, a D50 would probably be the best way to go, although, as I said, you would be missing in-camera functions.