Upgrading from a D80

TashWill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm upgrading from a D80 and I have been drawn to the D7100. Is there anything alarmingly wrong with this camera?

I'm mainly a hobby photographer but do photograph clients when able to(I'm also a school teacher) so i need something more than an entry level camera.

I'm upgrading from a D80 and I have been drawn to the D7100. Is there anything alarmingly wrong with this camera?

I'm mainly a hobby photographer but do photograph clients when able to(I'm also a school teacher) so i need something more than an entry level camera.

I've had 3 D80 bodies in the past, and at one point made the upgrade to a D7000 and then to a D7100.

Coming from the D80, the D7100 will absolutely blow you away. The difference really is astounding.. especially the autofocus and low light performance.

Go ahead and get a D7100.. you absolutely will not regret it.

My main issue with my D80 is the low light performance! I'm never able to bump my ISO up AT ALL without getting too much grain(at least for my liking). I'm so nervous to purchase....

My main issue with my D80 is the low light performance! I'm never able to bump my ISO up AT ALL without getting too much grain(at least for my liking). I'm so nervous to purchase....

When I had my D80 I tried to stay below 400, 800 was my max. 1600 was a desperate last resort.

On the D7100 I'm generally comfortable up to 2500, 3200-4000 is pushing it. Beyond that is a last resort.

I also recently picked up a refurb D500 for $1500, and with that I'm comfortable up to 8000, and anything below 25,600 can be useable depending on conditions.

Technology moves fast, but the 7100 is a MASSIVE upgrade over the D80.

Depending on your budget and what lenses you own, you might also consider picking up a used D600/D610 because they are essentially the D7100 with a full frame sensor and better low light abilities.

D80>D90>D7000>D7100