Upgrading LR from 4 to 6?

Nizztos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have LR 4 and have not seen any reason to upgrade it. I don't use it all that much as I'm a casual photographer. I do however only shot in RAW so when I do use the camera I always use LR to get my photos from camera to computer and do whatever post processing I need/want to do.

Now I would like to test HDR and I think that is included in LR6.
Ignoring HDR are there any reasons to upgrade to 6? I have read a lot of bad stuff about 5 and 6 but since I have not actually looked at what the changes are I'm assuming that that is just normal as you always hear more about bad things that the things that actually work.
How has things like performance, better algorithms etc been affected? Any new must have features for a casual photographer?

the HDR function is a bit weak.

But from 4 to 6 you get better sliders + dehaze + perspective distortion controls.

It also allows you to use the GPU for performance dehancement.

I agree Adobe's HDR tools are somewhat lame.

To make HDR images I highly recommend hdrSoft's Photomatix.
But to really do justice to an HDR you need Photomatix (or any other HDR application) & Photoshop. Not LR. Photoshop.

Actually, LR is incomplete and can't do a lot of edits photographers (even casual photographers) want/need to do.
That's why Adobe includes LR 6 along with Photoshop CC in it's current $9.99 a month Photoshop Photography subscription package.

So you can pay just $119.99 a year and have both the full professional version of Photoshop CC 2015 and LR 6.
And with the subscription, as new features become available Adobe will let you know you can immediately download them so you never again have to wonder " How has things like performance, better algorithms etc been affected? Any new must have features for a casual photographer?"

Thanks for the input.
Pretty sure that the HDR in LR will be plenty good enough for me.