Usage of Photos of Well-known Photographers in Presentation slides to students

PhotoLecturer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a dilema here... Here's the situation.
I'm a photography lecturer and going to start my 1st week of lesson with inspiring my students by talking about the best photographers in different genres of photography. Is it ok to include copyrighted photos in my powerpoint slides when i talk about the photographer (with credit line)? Is that considered fair use for educational purposes?

Problem is, I can't really just get creative common photos or free photos to illustrate my point here as i want to show the photographer's work and talk about how great he/she is.

I personally take copyright very seriously and would remind my students never to copy / publish copyrighted photos without permission or purchase of license to photo usage in their blog / facebook etc. So i would like to set a good example when i do my lectures.

- I will be presenting this presentation slides to a class of 20 students
- This presentation will only be presented in the classroom, one-time.
- This presentation will not be passed on or be copied by staff or student, it will not exist outside of the classroom.

Alternatively, would it be better if i show the students those inspiring top-notch photos straight from the photographer's websites? (it's just a little bit of a hassle that i have to load every websites and photos that i want to show on the web browser and then switch back to my slides to talk about other stuff. But if that's the safest and most ethical way, I'll rather go for this.

Hope someone can provide some advices / solutions here. Thank you
icon_smile.gif

Keith will chime in eventually with the specifics on the copyright law, but yes. You can use images in education that are copyrighted.