Usage rights rates???

TonUp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

Very new here, stumbled on this site when a request came to me to purchase some images I shot of a performance last month that I put up on my flickr. I'll preempt this request for advice with the caveat that I'm a web designer and hobby photographer who's been thinking that it's about time to start trying to sell a bit more of my photography work along with my web work, but I haven't made any leaps in that direction at this point.

So I took photos of Amanda Palmer last month:
Amanda Palmer and Nervous Cabaret - a set on Flickr
Over the weekend I received a message from Amanda Palmer's photo intern asking if I'd be willing to send over 30 high res images and my usage rights for the photos to "potentially use on her website, MySpace and promo materials." My first reactions were, a.) 30 images is a lot to be requesting, b.)promo materials is a bit too vague for me to come up with a solid sense of what the usage rights should be or a fair price, and c.)shouldn't we figure out the terms before I send along 30 high res images? To be honest, given my noob status, credit is certainly a good thing for me at this point, but I don't want to give away the farm either.

Anyway, any advice, thoughts, ramblings, what-have-you would be greatly appreciated. Super glad I found this site, too! Been having way too much fun just browsing around and reading!

Best,
Josh

Agreed. It is not very specific. As such, ask for quite a lot of money or ask for a better defined use of the photos. Explaining of course that you cannot give away use rights so vague without the most compensation possible... :lol:

I don't know this person and so you'll need to come up with amounts on your own, but the idea is kind of stupid. Maybe they're hoping you're an idiot who will give them the rights for nothing.