Usage rights when a picture is of YOU

stsinner

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just curious, and I know we're all from different countries, but what is the law when you find a picture of yourself, and I mean you are the main subject, so it's obviously of you, on a website and it has a copyright watermark? Since it's of you, do you have assumed rights to use it?

I'm ot talking about a portrait where you paid to have it taken and signed a release, but I'm a firefighter, and our picture is often taken and put on websites.. If some random photographer takes my picture, do I have the right to use that picture as I see fit?

An interesting question and this can be a fuzzy area. But, here is my understanding:

The photographer owns the copyright - unless they signed it over to the person using the image. They probably licensed it for use by the user instead. You, as the person in the image, do not have any copyright to the image at all.

Generally speaking, the use of the image can be considered editorial if it's used in a news item, on a newsletter or in some similar context. For that, no model release may be required. However, if the photographer is selling the image to a magazine or something like that, and it is not considered editorial then the model should be entitled to a fee if they did not sign a model release.

If the photographer sold the image as stock photography, then he should have obtained a model release from you - unless it is only sold for editorial purposes.

The exact interpretation is probably unique to each case though.

Hope that isn't too confusing!

Nigel

An interesting question and this can be a fuzzy area. But, here is my understanding:

The photographer owns the copyright - unless they signed it over to the person using the image. They probably licensed it for use by the user instead. You, as the person in the image, do not have any copyright to the image at all.