Using a gray card.

NEPats37

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well I've never used a gray card before and had a few questions. I'll be using it during an air show in order to avoid under exposing the planes. So I simply wanted to know when metering the gray card do I hold it in the same light as the plane will be in. For example if the plane is in a really bright sky do I try to get the gray card in the same light.
I also read that you should increase exposure by +0.5 stops from the reading you get from the gray card. Is this true?
Thanks

I would get the light reading off the grey card in as close to the same light as you will be photographing. I wouldn't increase the exposure from that reading. Airshow photos can be very tricky. If it's a bright day you will have heavy shadows on the undersides of the planes.

Basically yeah, that's how you do it. Place the card in the same light that you will be shooting your subject in. You could always try locking the exposure of the blue sky and see how that works. There's a book by Bryan Peterson called 'Understanding Exposure' and it's a great reference, check it out.

Lock exposure of blue sky will underexpose the planes, try locking exposure on the grass or take your reading for the sky and overexpose by three to four stops, especially if this is neg film and real bright skys.H

thanks for the replies.
Any other suggestions for the airshow?
thanks

Perhaps I'm wrong here but I thought a grey card was not used to determine exposure. It's used for colour balancing your images. Setting the white balance using the grey card will mean all your images will not be affected by the colour of the light....

When metering a grey card, you'd still need to add exposure compensation (as we spoke about in the previous post) if it's being placed against a bright sky....

Regards
Jim