Using two portable studio lights - what accessories would you get to start?

Overread

hmm I recognise this place! And some of you!
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
www.deviantart.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I've still not made a choice (for those that remember my earlier thread on choosing between this and a stopshot); that said I'm considering getting a pair of powerful portable lights. Specifically the Safari with two lights
Safari Li-on Portable Flash System - Lencarta

Now with a pair of lights I'd be curious as to what accessories you'd get for light control/diffusion for generalist non-specific use both indoor and outdoor. I know that is a nightmare of a question to answer, but its what I have at present for a question.

Thus far I'm thinking that: light stands; umbrellas (what kind?); a softbox and a snoot would be good starting points to consider beginning with. However I've little to no experience with flash outside of macro, so scaling things up there is a lot more variation on the market with what to get.

In addition I'd also welcome suggestions if anyone thinks that the light set and battery listed above isn't a good choice in itself and if there might be other suitable options in the same price bracket or cheaper that would be worth considering.

Last edited:
I think when you're using portals, there should be an orange and a blue one. Also, the cake is a lie.

I have a softbox and an umbrella. That's probably a good place to start. A snoot, you could probably make quite easily.

I think when you're using portals, there should be an orange and a blue one. Also, the cake is a lie.

The cake isn't a lie I saw it once!!! In the credits - its down there in the basement with the spare cores!