Very first Macros Ever by me.....AT-X 100 PRO D

mjbine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just getting into macros and purchase the Tokina AT-X 100 PRO D Macro. I only used the pop-up and hand held. I have to order an OCF and start thinking about a better tripod and head. Please let me know what you think. I know that I need to get better and would love any C&C good or bad.

Both were shot at:
1/320
100 ISO
f8@100mm

5741496782_8703252529_z.jpg

5740943565_29e3734069_z.jpg

Thanks for looking

Last edited:
These are outstanding. you can only get better from here.

Certainly off to a good (and bold) start; though some room to improve certainly.

The first thing that hits me is the contrast; in both shots its very high and the result is that you've lost details. Take a look at the blacks around the wasps faces, you can see the blacks running into each other and hiding the detail of the jaw sections. This is something that will increase as you resize down for a wedsize viewing and thus whilst it might look better fullsize, at this scale its really losing you those details.

Thus I'd recomend adjusting your editing to tone back on the contrast a bit with both shots; you might want to use some sharpening just after if you remove a lot of contrast*

At the shooting stage I suspect the high contrast is a result of both the ambient light and also your flash light; where the small size of the popup flash is giving you a very harsh fill light to work with. A few folds of white toilet paper secured infront of the popup flash can help to lessen this softness; though the offcamera flash you have on order; combined with a small diffusion setup (Eg a small softbox) will give you an even softer light to work with (simply put light from a larger light source is softer than one from a smaller sized light source)