Voigtlander guys, help me out if you would

subscuck

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Illinois, where even the dead get to vote
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My dad gave me a Bessamatic with the Color Skopar 50mm 2.8 about 30 years years ago, when I was a sophomore in HS. My uncle had brought it back for him when he was stationed in Germany around '67 or '68. My dad never purchased any lenses for it, and by the time I got it, they were only available on the aftermarket, and expensive as I seem to recall. As a result, a couple of years later I sold my soul to Canon, and have been there ever since.

I was always blown away with the IQ of this camera and occasionaly used it over the years. The last time was probably ten years ago when it started having a problem advancing the film. I believe it's the tab on the take up spool. It appears worn, and I remember last time I used it, even loading, it didn't want to grip the film.

Is this worth having repaired? I'm not sure I will ever shoot film again, but if my Bessamatic were fully functional, I just might. I have no idea what these bring pricewise anymore, so I'm just curious and will consider any advice and suggestions you guys have.

In many cases older film cameras cost more to repair than to replace but
it's possible your camera's problem might not cost much to fix. I would
email some repair shops and see if you can get an estimate sight unseen.
I've gotten estimates like that from Photography on Bald Mountain. They
are located in California and have reasonable prices in my experience.
There are other repair shops as well, of course.