wanting workflow advice for editing jewelry/cosmetics photographed in a lightbox

spikeykun

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm fairly new to photoshop, but I've been put with our design team at a trading company that deals in a very high volume of cosmetics, jewelry, and accessories to take, edit, and put up photos of our products for the web and our inventory system. Our editing is done using photoshop (recently upgraded to CS5), and photos are taken in a lightbox (ortery photosimile 200 using a Canon Powershot A640), but we are looking for ways to streamline our workflow so that we can crank out finished pictures faster. What plug-ins/Filters would work best for jewelry and cosmetics for cleaning up dust/noise, fix up low quality images (as we occasionally get photos from our vendors of varying quality), or otherwise streamline our workflow?

Currently, my workflow goes a bit like this

1.) Take a photo of the product using Canon Powershot A640 in Ortery Photosimile 200 lightbox. The photos usually have a very plain background, with occasional noise and unwanted details from a dirty background.

2.) Export the picture as a high quality JPEG to my workstation to edit in photoshop

3.) In Photoshop, I crop the image to take out excess border around the product, autolevel or manually adjust the level to brighten and lighten the product slightly, then extract the product using some combination of the lasso, marquee, magic wand and pen tool. I have some trouble here with silver or light+semitransparent objects that have little contrast with the background, but have a lot of fine details (chain links, lots of tiny pearls, etc). Nothing I can't get, but it is time consuming as I have to go through and adjust my selection for each problem area. If the edges are jagged as it occasionally happens with the wand tool, I smooth out my selection 1-3 pixels a few times.