wedding photographers - what do you think?

dweddings

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a computer artist (not photographer) who is thinking of launching a business providing wedding videos made from still photos. It would not be a slideshow, more like stop motion, or a low frame rate video which would be edited to 1 song. A friend had this done and it was done beautifully, and I thought it could be a really nice alternative or addition to a more standard wedding video. I'd like to hear some opinions from photographers.

1- As an artist myself I don't want to take credit for or inappropriately use another artist's work. I need to check on the legal issues, but I believe if the bride owns the rights to the photos I can legally use the photos. If your bride owned the photos and your name was credited at the end of the video would you mind having your photos used this way?

2- Is this a service you think brides would be interested in?

3- Would you consider forming a relationship with a company like mine, where you can offer my services as an add on to your own to your bride and if they book you as their photographer they receive a discount from me?

Any other thoughts would be appreciated.

Thank you

1. Very rarely does the wedding couple own any rights except reproduction rights to their photos, so you would have to deal with the original photographer (and if it were me, the cost would probably be sufficient to make it not profitable for you).

2. I suspect many would be interested in it.

3. While weddings are not my primary (or even secondary) focus, I, and I suspect many other photographers are always on the lookout for ways to increase business and sales. That said, I see a few issues:

The supply of appropriate, open-source music is rather limited. How would you go about acquiring music? What if the couple specified a song(s) that were not royalty-free?