Wedding photographers... what RAW software?

dewey

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I have been using lightroom for a while and I'm happy with it. I just started using Capture One LE because I got a free copy with a Sandisk card I bought. I haven't used it for an entire shoot yet. I like Lightroom more, but I think it's because that's what I'm used to, and CaptureOne is still new to me. It seems slower and it seems harder to go start to finish with it. Again I'm still learning it... don't freak out you Capture One addicts. :p

SO....

The question is who uses what for weddings? I typically use Lightroom & Photoshop. I'm open to changing my workflow if it will increase my speed or increase the quality of my postprocessing without adding alot of time. I'm working on processing a 2800 photo wedding today and speeding up processing is on my mind... go figure. :lol:

Thanks for sharing.

I use R.S.E. and Photoshop. I haven't tried Lightroom or Capture One, so I can't say anything about them.

I like the RAW workflow of R.S.E. (which I'm guessing is close to Lightroom)...but my Photoshop workflow is too slow.

Do you use any actions in Photoshop? That's the time/effort saver. I think I'm still too attached to editing every image individually based on what I think it needs...rather than getting close enough and batching a whole lot of files.

Let us (me) know when you figure out a way to stream line you processing. I've read plenty about people's workflows but it's always a matter of personal taste.

Great point on individual vs. batch treatment Mike.

I "grade" photos on how much pp I will give them. Reception candid shots get a basic automated correction - not much input from me and no Photoshop - just lightroom. Formals and the important reception shots get individual treatment as needed in Photoshop. I have an action that opens adjustment layers and makes minor changes which is a real timesaver.