Wedding photography advices

You don't have a flash? You are probably going to be at the reception...f/4 without a flash during the night hours would not cut it. I would suggest rent a lens if you're near any places that offer that service. If not, I would just put on the 50mm and snap photos from the side or where you're sitting at.

As a wedding photographer I totally agree with MLeek. I would add that often if there is a pro the good shots that don't get taken are the candids. Get the cute couples, kids dancing, older couples and people that won't be around for long. Those are are the fun ones and will really teach you a lot about photography and your camera. If its inside get a swivel flash that bounces for sure! Most reception halls were NOT made flash friendly, with mirrors and windows on every wall. My Swivel flash is my best friend at weddings.

The one thing I have a different opinion on is the lens. While having the wider angle is great and very important for the pro, most candids are easier with my zoom. I shoot a lot of shots at 150-200. They never see me and the candids are great that way, because I'm more invisible. I let my boss take most of the 'standard' wedding pics and I take the fun ones. He has a 18-200mm, I have my 75-200mm. It works for us as a team.

Most of all have fun with it. View it as a learning experience, check your LCD often for glaring problems and enjoy yourself. Wedding photography can be fun but also stressful so enjoy the fact that it's not all on you and have fun.

Well for starters I need to know IF there will be any pro, and this I do not know yet :/ What I am looking for are photos as good as they can be :) I have no industry experience, photography is my hobby (at least now) and I've never done a wedding shoot before but I am hoping to get some good stuff for my portfolio :) If I am lucky I will have also a flash by that time, do you think it would help me significantly?