Wedding photography pro?

mhbethea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Earlier today I read a post about a women doing a CC on her wedding photos. Not that I'm a pro by any means but I have a pretty good eye of what looks good composition, exposure, and I'm learning as I go. I've also given out a number of free photo shoots just to get better and get my name out there. My question is when do you start charging and when do you even think about doing a wedding?

Short answer. When you feel that you are ready and a customer is happy to pay you after seeing enough of your portfolio.

A good test to do is do the shoot for free but offer the images to buy. You will soon see if you can sell enough to start making a living. This is how I started. Remeber that there are ways to sell and promote yourself that doesnt have to cost the earth or anything. Recomendation is the best way and using social media is a great tool.

Please ask me if you have any more questions.

Olly

After a lawyer has reviewed your contracts and your insurance is paid up, and when you KNOW that you can deal with difficult lighting situations, confidently direct people who don't want to have their picture taken, have at least two of everything, and can walk backward without falling into a fountain.

And you should be able to consistently turn out excellent images, at any time, any place, any light! If you can't do that.. then you are NOT ready! :) (p.s. you also need decent equipment.. no KIT lenses for instance!)