wedding picture help

officersdr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I will be shooting 2 family weddings this summer for free. Both are small and will held in a backyard type setting. I just bought a new Sony alpha A 100 DSLR with the 18-70mm & 75-300mm lenses and I also have a 28-80mm from my minolta 35mm SLR I can use.

Now I would like peoplpe to post all types of wedding shots they have done.....what works, what doesn't, creative shots, flower girl shots, candids, formals....I NEED AS MANY PICTURES AS POSSIBLE. This is so I can figure out what shots I want to do.

I also would like any suggestions on how to practice these shots. I have a wife and 2 kids I can use for practice. I'm very new to this, so any help would be great.

Believe me if you search this topic for "wedding" you will find more wedding photos than you can digest before summer is over :)

Creative photos should not be too creative to loose the theme of togetherness and happyness. For instance some good creative shots I have liked are those of the rings, and wine glasses. But some that I don't like quite as much are when people get creative during the preparations. They look a bit lonely at times.

Also softfocusing either via a lens filter or in post processing works well depending on the lighting.

I hate to bang on about this subject but it might be an idea to buy or rent some better equipment - like a second body (what if yours stops working), fast prime and a decent flash.

As Garbz says, there's a lot of images all over the web with weddings. Look at the images and poses you like and speak to the couples and ask what they like and use that as a basis.

But most of all, to do it competently you really need fast lenses, decent flash and some backup gear + lots of memory :)

JD