Wedding Pricing Help

Saint-Brown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been strugling with wedding package pricing. I don't want to undervalue my work, but I also don't want to "overprice" as I am new to the wedding market, I've only done a weddings to date. How do you price out your packages? How much of a markup do yo guys and gals use.

I would start by answering these questions:
How will the packages be set up?
Do I charge by the hour; for full-day coverage; of a flat rate per event?
Does the photography include photoshop touch ups/ editing? (You need to account for the time you put into the pictures after the actual event.)
Does the package include the copyright release?
Does the package include any prints or an album? If so, what? How much will this cost me, & how much do I want to charge my client for the items?

I'm not sure about "Undervalue-ing" or overpricing, but I would say that around $1000 is the starting point for photography services. Since you've only shot 1 wedding so far, you probably still need to build your portfolio, and it might be best to try and sit in as a second shooter for another photographer. Or find 2-4 weddings this summer at a REALLY low rate.

I've been in business for 2 years, and I make about $700 profit per wedding. I'm not sure how that compares to anyone else. I try to market myself to couples who I know can't pay Big Bucks ($5000+) for a photographer.

(Or you could reverse engineer it and ask yourself, "What is the most I could pay back if I totally screwed up this shoot and lost a lawsuit?")

If you get into the business, how much money is it going to take to stay in the business is the question you should ask. Once you are in the business, you can't just say OOOPS, sorry, I didn't know what I was about so never mind. I know that you want prints and whatever, and I'm sorry your house caught on fire but I can't be bothered any more.