Wedding: Second Shooter Tips

Thanks everyone - some good stuff to consider here! I'll talk to her soon, it helps that I have some background info now to go off of.

Little off topic, but for all of you who have been at this (wedding photography/having a business) for a while, would it be rude or frowned upon for someone to ask to just come to the shoot and be a lens/water/whatever else mule for you just to learn? I'm just starting to pick up on studio lighting and the professional aspects of photography and it seems like this would be the best way to learn. I wouldn't be asking for anything in return, just to be able to observe and learn from watching.

Good idea or should I go read a book? :sillysmi:

Little off topic, but for all of you who have been at this (wedding photography/having a business) for a while, would it be rude or frowned upon for someone to ask to just come to the shoot and be a lens/water/whatever else mule for you just to learn? I'm just starting to pick up on studio lighting and the professional aspects of photography and it seems like this would be the best way to learn. I wouldn't be asking for anything in return, just to be able to observe and learn from watching.

Good idea or should I go read a book?
That's a great idea. Assisting an established pro is one of the best ways to learn the ins & outs of the business.
You can certainly as photographers, but be prepared that some of them will say no. Maybe they don't want to 'train their future competition' or maybe they don't want to babysit a newb while they are working...or maybe they already have a long list of people wanting to work for them.
However, some photographers don't mind sharing their knowledge and would be glad to have an enthusiastic assistant (especially one who's willing to work for peanuts).