weird "noise" around my photo when i use my external flash

carrieqberry

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i am mostly a natural light photographer and i am new to the indoor/flash photography. in a recent wedding i did some of the pics turned out with this shadowy weird haze when i used the flash. i shoot with a canon 6d and i shoot in manual. can you help? :)

heres the pic!

Attachments

• IMG_00061edit.jpg
    IMG_00061edit.jpg
    442.4 KB · Views: 351
Subject/camera movement due to 1/20 sec shutter speed. There was enough ambient light to record the subjects, and they (or your camera) moved during the time the shutter was open. Get your shutter speed up closer to the maximum synch speed and the ambient light will be reduced.

weddings are a tough situation to test or practice flash photography...

what were the camera setting for this shot?
it looks like you got motion blur from too slow a shutter speed.
was the flash diffused at all? it doesn't appear to be judging from the big hotspots.
what was the flash set at? did you use the flash manual or TTL?
what metering mode were you using?
if you shoot your camera in manual, you need to account for the fact that you will have the flash adding light and adjust your camera settings accordingly.

the biggest issues i am seeing with this picture appear to be motion blur/camera shake from improper shutter speed and direct bare flash. Also, the house is apparently sliding down a hill.
its hard to tell much about the "noise" because the file is so small, it distorts pretty bad when viewed at a large size.
do you have a full resolution file you can post or link to?

........what were the camera setting for this shot?

Camera Maker: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS 6D
Lens: EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Image Date: 2014-11-15 06:29:39 (no TZ)
Focal Length: 24mm
Aperture: ƒ/4.5
Exposure Time: 0.050 s (1/20)
ISO equiv: 2000
Exposure Bias: none
Metering Mode: Matrix
Exposure: Manual