What camera to get, advanced amateur

Tomnomnom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I recently lost my Rebel XT at a holiday party and need to find a replacement for it. I had had it for about 3 years and loved the thing to death.

Here's my situation: My main interest is sports photography (skateboarding, biking, etc...) but I also work as a photographer for Lehigh University, taking on jobs at conferences, various events, and for individual professors. I need to get a camera so that I can keep part of my job once I return in a week and a half.

Problem is, it's hard to find something that can shoot at a high rate and high light sensitivity that doesn't cost thousands of dollars. I know a good deal about Canon models, but I do not know much about Nikon or other brands. I've been researching a bunch of models for some time now, so I know all their specs and such but I'm trying to figure out the best combined package for myself that can meet my needs while also not destroying my budget. Here are the two main options I'm looking at right now.

My first choice is to scoop up a used 1d Mark II off KEH or Ebay (I didn't see any on here) for around 700 to 800. The 8.5 fps rate is highly attractive, and I have handled this camera in the past and loved it. However, the camera is usually sold as a body only, which means I will be looking at a few hundred extra for a lens and a flash. Also, the expandable 3200 ISO isn't the best compared to other newer models (I was thinking I could pick up a 50mm 1.4 to counteract that). And the 8 megapixel isn't much of an improvement above my Rebel XT (even though it's not really that important, it would be nice to have something that could fulfill any future printing desires).