What do you put in your professional biography?

Ilovemycam

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What do you put in your professional biography? My bio is not for getting a job, it will just deal with photography.

Should I put my birth date and place of birth? I have no eduction as a photographer, just self taught. Should I put my schools that didn't apply to my photography? Family life? How much non photo BS is good to put in the bio?

I have 12 projects pending that will be completed in the next 2 - 4 months. These involve very prestigious institutions that have accepted limited edition bound portfolios of my work.

I was going to list 5 of these in the bio. Should I list them with a ' * ' explaining that they are 'under production' or 'pending delivery?' Or should I just list what has been completed in the section on public collections? I only have 5 completed listings for this section, so I'd like to use a few of the pending orders to boost this area.

If you care to share your biography, please post it.

Thanks

Last edited:
I would put any and all education. It is all relevant. Show your creative side in your bio.

Avoid phrases such as "pending" or "unfinished", rather say that you are "involved with" them. The only "bio" I have is my 'About' page on my website, which reflects my personal taste for minimalism.

Avoid phrases such as "pending" or "unfinished", rather say that you are "involved with" them. The only "bio" I have is my 'About' page on my website, which reflects my personal taste for minimalism.

Liked the wet darkroom info. I forgot about that as a background, even though I'm all digital now.

Bio is kinda a pain in the ass though. Pix should speak for themselves, with a minimum amount of personal info needed. (Unless some person is really admired and the people crave evry little bit of info on them.)