What do you think about the Art Institute schools?

Vespa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am currently a photography student at the Art Institute in Indianapolis. I like the school but I sometimes wonder if a for profit school has my best interest in mind? I get a little nervous that I don't see many successful graduates on this forum or anywhere that I know of. (None of my teachers went here) I am going to this very expensive school on vocational rehab. after being wounded in Iraq so the money is not coming out of my pocket but I still want the best education for my time. Would love to hear what people think about the chain of schools and would love to hear from any past grads also. Thanks for the feedback

Hi Vespa. I know nothing about your institute. When I read your post I thought..how would a not-for-profit be able to provide good facilities and quality tutors?

I've heard nothing but good things about them, I can't really speak on how the education is from personal experience. I got a small private school in Cali, and while it's not know as a "top" art school, the individual attention is great, as well as we have had many sucessful grads in the past. Also, we are a big part of the San Fran AIGA chapter which helps us a lot. I'm a Graphic Deign Major Photo Minor in case you were wondering. I have a lot of ins here at school from friends needing shoots, to more recent gigs with the school itself and thier events and my current job shooting sports and doing Graphic Design for the Marketing division here. So far im loving it, and I have a lot of clients already. I guess to each his own, but I love it here.

They have the best TV commercials of all the art schools!

just because they are not for profit doesnt mean they dont have lots of cash

It's a for profit school. He is wondering if a for profit school is concerned more with making money, or education.