What is a good raw converter?

Big mike I agree. Before I came to this site I thought a laptop would be great. My boyfriend bought me a nice one I guess. It has 2x the memory and all those other creative words involved with computers lol

Well now that I know more I want a desktop. My boyfriend had a good idea which I did want to ask on here. What about a docking station? I'm pretty sure the monitors we have can be calibrated.

I also have cs5 Dave said my laptop can support it BUT Dave is lazy and I'm not good with comps like how he is so I'm waiting for him to install it.

I would guess your graphics card in your laptop is pretty poor, which will affect the image and make a huge difference on speed. But I'm sure hooking up an external monitor for awhile would help.

That's exactly what I'm looking for bigmike. A way to just flip thru my photos that are raw with out having to open lightroom.

I have a lot of snapshots of my kiddo that I like to flip thru and just use the windows opener or just glance thru the thumbnails. I noticed my raw pics don't show the specific image for the thumbnail.

Your camera manufacturer's software will allow you to do this, even if you decide not to use it as a raw converter. When I plug my camera into my computer, the manufacturer's software comes up automatically and I can view the images as soon as they are uploaded to the hard drive. They are stored in separate folders by date.

Thanks for the tips on trying to recover my pics. Dave is a whiz when it comes to computers and he downloaded every recovery program he could find. I even had a friend who works for the police dept for finding illegal stuff in computers and he couldn't get them back. :(

BuT with the family living far away besides fb I also made my family monthly CDs so they copied them for me. I saved a good chunk except! 14-15 months old.