What is a thread? What do I need to know? What should I be look for?

hernandez29

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My name is Enrique Hernandez and I just sign in to see what the PhotoForum is all about. I had been into still photography since since I was a teenager. I started out using a twin lens camera and later I starting processing my own film. I taught myself photography by reading about photography and trial and error. It was my hobby all through my high school day and into college. Many years later, when I studied to become a register nurse. While working as a RN, I put put my camera aside to concentrate on being a nurse. Now that I retired, I am trying to get back to my old hobby of photography and start shootings again. Thanks. Enrique

Hi - and welcome back to photography.

Welcome to the forum & back to photography!

As to 'what is a thread?' as far as Forums go it's a subject of conversation like the one you've just started.
You're free to search old threads to find information/topics that have been discussed before, adding in your own replies & follow-up questions (on the same topic) or start a new thread with your own slant to the topic.

Photography in general has different uses of the word thread, used for screw pitches for linking filters or some older lenses...
'M42' may have been a common lens mount when you first took up photography (It refers to a 42mm diameter with 1mm pitch screw thread) Some of us still use these old lenses on our modern digital cameras.

The latter questions in your title are more difficult to answer, as they depend on where you want to go.
Film is in far more limited supply than it would have been when you started out, but it is still available in the more popular formats if you wish to go back to developing etc as before.
If you decide to go digital the cost of each shot drops considerably - after the initial investment and if you avoid the constant temptation to upgrade.