What is an .XMP file?

kkamin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kevinkaminphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to RAW files, so I see an .XMP file that accompanies it. I believe it is the metadata collected by the camera right?

1. Why isn't this information embedded directly into the RAW file somewhere?

2. If I change the metadata of a RAW file within Bridge, will it write to that .XMP file? What happens when I write to the metadata of a JPEG, it writes inside the actual JPEG right?

3. After I convert the RAW file into a TIFF or whatever, does that .XMP file data get put into the TIFF or whatever?

Thanks!

No, the .xmp file is a "sidecar file" that is written only after the RAW file has been handled by software at the computer stage. Adobe's sidecar files carry the .xmp file type--other RAW software creates sidecar files with a different file extension.

SilkyPix RAW developer software for example uses the file type .spd when correcting a JPEG, but the sidecar files are still written and stored separately from the edited JPEG files.

I don't think it's correct to call the .xmp file EXIF information, since it's more of a list of editing parameters that have been/should be applied to a RAW image to make it open and look the way the photographer has adjusted the raw files.

These .xmp files do not have to reside in the same folders as the Nikon .NEF or the Canon .CR2 or the Fuji .RAF RAW files--that is a preference that you can change; if you like, the .xmp information can be stored in a central database, but the default is to create sidecar files that "ride with" the motorcycle, err, with the RAW file...

Think of them as a 'history' of what you did to the RAW in PP.

The software can't actually alter the RAW, so it has to save the changes to a separate file.

I think I get it.

1. The metadata in other file formats, jpeg for example is embedded in the file?