What is THE BEST "first lens"

00bolt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay, I know there probably is no real answer to this question, so Im hoping to get people's suggestions.

Im a newbie and very amateur. I have had a Canon S2 point and shoot for the past year or so and just bought a Canon XTi SLR body today. So now I need a lens. Since Im on a budget, Id like to stay in the $300-$500 range. I dont mind shopping in used market (ebay, forums, etc) to be able to save a few bucks in hopes to get a better lens...

I know eventually once I start getting better and understand the camera a little better I will want more lenses, but for now Id like to find that one perfect lens.... In a perfect world it would be a 17-300mm F1.8 IS for $500 and it would be perfect quality with no negatives... but since there is no such item, I need suggestions...

What I plan to shoot: kids around house, outside, birthday parties, etc... on occasion I will try and go and find interesting things... who knows, could be a red barn in a field of flowers, could be a skyscrapper in downtown... just whatever catches me eye I guess. But mostly, will be used for taking pics of the kids. One thing I WOULD LIKE is capability to do the "blurry background" effect. So I was thinking of something that can do a low aperture like 2.8 or larger...

I did a little research myself and found one that seems to get decent reviews, but still doesnt seem to be perfect, has some issues (guess everything does in reviews online)... But it doesnt have IS and its not a name brand like Canon... so still up for suggestions...

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Tamron-17-50mm-f-2.8-XR-Di-II-Lens-Review.aspx

I've got the Tamron 17-50 F2.8 and I can recommend it. Great lens :thumbup: