What lens should I get for a 300mm?

snapsnap1973

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I like to take pictures of birds in flight sometimes, although of course I'm very new to photgraphy and really don't get it that much yet. Anyways, I got a nice D3200 for Xmas and it came with 2 NON VR lenses and I have no complaints, but I would like a little more reach sometimes. Of course it came with the 18-55 and the 55-200mm lenses.

I'd like to get maybe a 70-300mm, but something that Ken Rockwell said was not to duplicate lens ranges or something similar. Is there a lens that goes from 200-300mm?

What's a good cheap (money-wise) lens that goes out to around 300mm? I would think it should also be VR out at that zoom. Am I correct?

1. Forget everything that Ken Rockwell says.
2. The 70-300 AF-S VR is, dollar for dollar, one of the nicest inexpensive lenses you can buy.
3. The 55-200 is, in my personal opinion, a pretty poor lens and I'd rather have the 70-300 ANY day.
4. I have the 70-300 and love it. I have the 55-200 and don't even know where it is nor do I miss it.
5. 300mm is what I consider to be the MINIMUM length for shooting birds. 500mm is much better, 600mm better still.

Another even less expensive good option is the Tamron 70-300mm vc. Opinion is divided as to whether the Nikon or tamron is better, so much so that I believe either is good enough. I had it in Canon mount, it's a nice lens

Ken Rockwell is comparable to Satan. He speaks in Half-Truths. 90% subjective conjectured babble drabble.

Yes, a long telephoto will be expensive. If you are really into wildlife, spend the $ on the good glass for you will soon outgrow the body but the glass is forever. Good long glass is $thousand$ - buy used and you will always retain your resale value.