What Photography Courses would you recommend??

bixbooh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am just starting out in photography (for money that is). I have not had any formal training, but I have taken pictures for my family for years. Recently I did some senior pictures for my niece and engagement pictures for a cousin. Word is getting around that I "do" photos. While I think this would be a great profession, I would like to actually learn a little before getting serious. I am really struggling with lighting. I use a Sony F828 with external flash and I have a couple of lights with umbrellas. However when I use the umbrellas my images are burnt. I have received a couple of flyers for a New York Institute of Photography but am wondering if they are the best or are is there another place I can take some online courses? (I live in the middle of SD, thus an actual "in person" class is out of the question.)

Welcome to the forum.

There are so many different topics in photography...the courses you should look at will depend on what you want to (or need to) learn. Lighting for portraiture, for example.

Just a quick question, when using external lights, how are you determining your exposure? and are you using continuous or strobe (flash) lights? If you are using flash, you should probably be using a flash meter because your in-camera meter will be useless (although, you can always shoot and then adjust your settings).

I've heard/seen several people take courses from NYIP, but many of them don't follow through because it they were not 'into' learning in that way.

Where is 'SD'?