What settings for analog SLR to get great photos....

Bagdad Bob

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, hello, I'm new in here! ;)

Anyway I encountered an old analog system camera and so took it to the local photo dealer to put in batteries and film and to check it out if it worked or not (and it did!). Its a Chinon CE-4, the manual is to be found here: Chinon CE-4 camera manual, instruction

Im new to photography, I had a 2-day course or smth when 15 years old (23 now) but that I dont remember at all!

Now it's just for me to shoot some photos since the photo dealer put in the film to me ...Im Swedish so I might use the wrong terms, I hope you will get me anyway.

I have three objectives, one 50 mm 1:1.4 and one 1:1.7 and one 135 mm. I understood that 50mm is best for close-up photos / macro photos and 135 for landscape settings? Or am I totally wrong? When do I use which? And what is best, 1:1.7 or 1:1.4? And why?

I read alot about photo exposure and aperture, but I'm getting frustrated, as I want to take quite good photos to not waste money on the film...I need some help!

The film is ISO 200 and hence the Iso setting is put to 200.

Are there any standard settings that I could use for different motives, or how do I decide what shutter speed and aperture setting to have. I heard that for a noob as myself its best to take pictures indoor with alot of natural light (like sun from the sides/windows on the side) or outdoor with natural lighting. Correct?

I somewhere read that if I use a 50 mm objective shutter speed should be less, eg. 1/60 to 1/1000. Is that correct? How do I choose the corresponding aperture number?

Maybe this answer my question better: If you were in my situation, and you would take these photos, what settings would you choose and why?

a) Portrait indoors with good lightning from one side
b) The same as above but with quite bad lightning
c) The same but outdoors